Ashford began as a settlement around 893AD. By 1086 it was large enough, with a church and two mills, to be listed in The Domesday Book as Essetesford. The 1600’s saw Ashford becoming an important South Kent market town, primarily for livestock, but by far the most key development came with the arrival of the railway in 1842 which doubled the size of the town. And the railway has continued to play a huge part in the prosperity of Ashford with the recent advent of the Channel Tunnel, the Ashford International Passenger station and a journey time to Paris of just two hours. Covering some 250 square miles, Ashford is now one of the fastest developing areas of the UK.
The church spires are those of St Mary the Virgin. There has been a church on this site since the 11th Century, although the one still standing in a very quaint old square of charming little cottages dates from around 1300.